President Trump Adds North Korea, Venezuela & Chad To The List Of 8 Countries Affected By His Travel Ban

US President Donald Trump on Sunday, issued new travel restrictions on citizens from North Korea, Venezuela and Chad, increasing to eight the list of countries covered by his original travel bans.

Other countries included in the ban are Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen and Somalia. Restrictions on citizens from Sudan were lifted.

Unlike the president’s original bans, which had time limits, this one is open-ended.

After the ban restriction was released, Donald Trump tweeted:

Trump adds North Korea, Venezuela and Chad to the list of 8 countries affected by his travel ban

“Making America Safe is my number one priority. We will not admit those into our country we cannot safely vet” .

Iraqi citizens will not be subject to travel prohibitions but will face enhanced scrutiny or vetting.

The current ban, enacted in March, was set to expire on Sunday evening. The new restrictions are slated to take effect on Oct. 18 and resulted from a review after Trump’s original travel bans sparked international outrage and legal challenges.

An administration official, briefing reporters on a conference call, acknowledged that the number of North Koreans now traveling to the United States was very low.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Designed by WizKid Blogger.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...